No longer do those who text and drive have to wonder what the penalty for such bad behavior is in the Palmetto State.
Prior to Monday’s new statewide texting law, traveling across county lines used to represent differing texting ordinances. The new texting while driving law signed by Gov. Haley on Monday states:
It is unlawful for a person to use a wireless electronic communication device to compose, send, or read a text-based communication while operating a motor vehicle on the public streets and highways of this State.
This includes text messaging, instant messaging, and e-mailing.
The fine is now $25 for first offense – statewide.
This law represents an increase in fines for some counties, while other counties will see a decrease. Mount Pleasant for example used to fine texters $50 for a first offense, and texting while driving in Greenville was $100.
So crossing county lines in our fair state is now more uniform, but don’t get too comfortable. Crossing state lines is a different matter altogether. You will pay $150 for a first offense in Georgia, and in North Carolina you will cough up $230. And if you get really distracted texting and driving, and you end up in Alaska, first offense there for texting and driving is a $10,000 fine or a year in prison
CLICK HERE for more information